Ramones Box Set Features Band’s First Six Albums

If you ask a New Yorker, she or he will tell you that punk rock was born right here in the Forest Hills section of Queens in 1974 when the Ramones released their eponymous debut album. The record label who released that landmark album — Sire Records — has comprised the ultimate Ramones box set.

RAMONES: THE SIRE YEARS (1976-1981) will include the band’s first six albums: Ramones (1976), Leave Home (1977), Rocket To Russia (1977), Road To Ruin (1978), End Of The Century (1980), and Pleasant Dreams (1981). Each album from the collection will be in their initial running order and include the original album artwork.

An expanded digital edition — titled THE SIRE YEARS (1976-1989) — features 11 studio albums in total, adding Subterranean Jungle (1983), Too Tough To Die (1984), Animal Boy (1986), Halfway To Sanity (1987), and Brain Drain (1989) to the fold. Both the six album and expanded digital edition will be released on October 29, with the six album collection being priced at $39.98.

–E.J. Judge/WCBS-FM


More From Jack Seattle FM

Callahan Interviews
Introducing Your New Podcast Network Play.it

Listen Live